Wednesday, June 3, 2009

The Walls Have Teeth

The Walls Have Teeth is a hardcore band from Dallas, Texas.

I was impressed with this hardcore band. Until I heard the songs "Beauty is Her Weapon of Choice" and "JCLS". TWHT is a really good band; they have some songs recorded live and it seems like they are very good in concert, but the vocals on those songs really dissapointed me. The rest of their songs are good, I think; I don't know if someone else sang the songs I told you, but the rest of them don't have that problem. They have a couple of little flaws like all the amateur bands (if I can call them that) but noting really noticeable or that really lowers their level.

I think their lyrics tend to be a bit about protest against authority, more that other bands I've heard.Maybe if they make an effort, they can be part of the new generation of hardcore bands (you know, every scene renews itself after certain amount of years, I think the average it's around 5 years.). I think it's time for the harcore scene to let new bands in.

Anyway, listen TWHT and tell me what you think about them.

Saturday, May 23, 2009

A West Way Home

A West Way Home it's not really a band, it's a solo project of Seann Bowe, from Paramore's homeland, Franklin, Tennesse; navigating though the seas of Indie and acoustic; also a couple of his songs have some electronic/ambient taste.
I have to recognize his effort, he recorded and produced all by himself, yet, the good intentions are not all that counts when it comes to music. His song "For My Own Good" reminds me a lot of the first time I heard Stereo Skyline!, unfortunately, in a bad way, it sounds more like a copy than a band in the same style.
His relaxed, acoustic songs are a bit better, at least they sound more original, but, without all the electronic play he made, his voice doesn't sound well, I mean, he's probably a good singer, but he just don't know it yet. He needs to work on his vocals because he screams every once in a while, also, he doesn't hit the right note sometimes.
Despite all this, you might like his music, it's kind of moody, and it's not that bad. After all, if you like it or not it's your decision.

Friday, May 15, 2009

Running With Giants

Running With Giants it's a pop punk band from Maryland.
A girl on the vocals. I was expecting them to sound like Paramore. Not at all. Finally! I don't know why, but most of the beginner bands with a female lead singer that I've heard sound at least a little like Hayley William's band.
Running With Giants are actually pretty good, with a lot of distortion on their guitars and awesome drums, their music sound kind of hard, more punk than pop, but the vocals makes it lighter and more pleasant to our ears, I really like that. In general, I love when the music's trashy, punky and the voice is sweet, and this band is a good example of it.
The conclusion here is: Maybe they're not the most awesome, shocking, innovative band, but I WIDELY recommend them.
Also, they're touring with a couple of already-reviewed (and loved)bands: Crush, the Everlasting and Colin Healy and the Jetskis, so, catch them if you can, check their Myspace profile for dates:

Wednesday, May 6, 2009

It's riddiculous

I was trying a new way to find bands, I clicked on the Myspace music section and I checked the bands from the first column, the "unlabeled" bands; you have to select a genre, so I chose indie, and in the column appeared bands such as Sugarcult, Clap your Hands,Say Yeah, and some other bands that are famous already, so my point here is: How the hell do they think unlabeled bands are gonna be noticed if the bands that are already famous are filling the places where they should be? I think it is really unfair for the bands, the fans and for the people who are loooking for something new, like me; and all this means I will have to get back to my old method to find bands: I'll let them find me first. The friend requests are the only safe way to know real, not-famous, upcoming bands, and that's so sad. Myspace should do something.

Crush,The Everlasting

Crush,The Everlasting it's a rock pop band from Buffalo, New York
I was listening to The Maine, so it got me in the mood for bands like this one.
Crush,The Everlasting it's one of those bands that really should be on Hopeless or Fearless records, because they have everything to belong and fit in there, I'm not comparing them to anybody in specific, but they soooo have the style, if you don't believe me, you should listen to their songs, specially "Movement" I really liked that one, but all their songs are pretyy nice, and I'm talking about everything because I didn't find anything I can call a fail or a mistake, musically.
So, here, listen:

Wednesday, April 29, 2009

Horrible Horrible Creatures

Horrible Horrible Creatures it's a rock pop band from Pennsylvania.
They are so in the style of bands like Boys Like Girls, and even when there's a plague of this kind of bands, they captivate me since the beggining, they made catchy, good music and I think somebody should sign them, I know I haven't said that of any other band, but they are really good! If you like bands such as Boys Like Girls, We The Kings, The All-American Rejects, and/or, if for some strange reason you read my blog and you liked already reviewed bands Friends For Hire, Don't Say Vegas and The Ocean Buried, you should listen them because you're gonna love'em. Well boys, I'm not UltraGrrrl, I can't make someone important put his attention on you, but I do my best, I'm objective and I have to say that you need to improve your myspace profile, to play more shows and do everything you can to become known, that's the 1st step to mainstream, where you should be. If you're taking this seriously, as it should be, you soon be spotted by someone important. Keep working and make more songs, the more you get is better.

Thursday, April 23, 2009

In Lights

In Lights it's a Pop/punk band from Ontario, Canada.
I'll go straight to the point, they sound pretty cool, actually, I like their music, but unfortunately they need to work on their vocals, is not that the boy (Dylan, his name is Dylan) is a bad singer, no, it's just this little thing that most of the begginers have, I don't know if you understand me; when a voice is not used to sing, it sounds different that a educated one; but I think it's the only thing I didn't like about In Lights, but when they improve their vocals...ok, I don't know what's gonna happen, but I wish that, whatever it is, it happens for the best.

Wednesday, February 25, 2009


Versant it's a an indie band from Vänersborg/Newbury Park, California.
They just have one song on their profile, and, even when one of my rules is not to judge a band just for one song, I can't help it but talk about them, I really liked that song, it's relaxing, but with the perfect amount of strenght, and so well produced; it's really good, and besides the voice of Carah Faye Charnow, the girl who make vocals it's pretty, it's the kind of voice I prefer in a girl, not so acute and with a good timbre.
The boys (the rest of the band are boys) are good musicians, I liked the music and I think everything is played just fine, without any mistakes.
Good demo.
I would like to see them live, I bet they are good.

Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Mental Pool.

Mental Pool it's a rock/experimental and maybe a bit of rap-rock band from Brooklyn, New York.
I don't know what to say about them, I don't know if they need to practice or what, because they don't sound actually good but I think they're not bad; sometimes they're out of tune, specially the vocals, but I think they can get better, reallly. But they're not. Anyway, their song "Sleeping Suicide" it's pretty well played, so, I guess they're not that bad.

Saturday, January 17, 2009


ToSleepWithAngels it's a screamo band from Great Falls, Montana.
Even when "members lived in different cities, To Sleep With Angels still manages to write and is in the process of recording". They sound pretty good, and better if you consider that they don't rehearse their songs together; I wonder if they are this good playing live.
They sound...normal, a lot like the bands they call their influences (Scary Kids Scaring Kids, UnderOath, blessthefall), I usually say that it is bad, but this time, even if I still think they need to make a difference between them and the rest of the bands of this genre, I think that ToSleepWithAngels it's a pretty good band and they play just fine.
You probably may think that they're not something new, or maybe you're sick of this genre, but they are good, so, give them a chance:

Saturday, January 10, 2009

Sarah With Secrets

Sarah With Secrets it's a melodic rock/powerpop band from Oslo, Norway.
Me doesn't likey. Haha, ok, more objectively, they're average, but the singer doesn't know how to sing. I've heard worse, of course, worse pro singers, but it doesn't make any difference, you know? I still think this girl needs to practice a lot; the music it's not that bad, but it's still average, they should obbey what their lyrics says "I'm trying to be better". I know their songs are "rough mixes" but I won't keep listening hoping they get better and get a sound that belongs to themselves.
Anyway, I can't say to people what they should think, so, go, make your own oppinion about them:

Wednesday, January 7, 2009


Agnes it's a screamo/hardcore band from Augusta, US.
Even when the voice of the vocalist it's out of tune sometimes, their music it's kinda cool, of course they need to improve themselves, but practice makes perfect, that's probably just what they need, because they are pretty nice, I mean, their music, it is good.
Nothing else to say; average/good band =) check them out:

Tuesday, January 6, 2009

Shapes of Cars.

Shapes of Cars it's an indie/glam/rock band from Silverlake, California
I liked the music, but when the vox started, I didn't like that. He has a weird voice and he doesn't control it perfectly, he tries to sing like David Bowie, but... nobody should try that, it's sacrilege! Even when I was annoyed at first, after listening them for a while I ended up liking their music. I think I'm becoming less bitchy or less exigent, because I liked most of the bands I've been reviewing lately, but there's a reason, I don't like everything, and not just because, for example, this band: They are kinda good, but they are not like the best indie band or something, I think they need a lot of things, because, by now, they're just an average band.
They are cool anyway,they are good musicians with a good style and you'll probably like them (if you like glam rock of course) :

Monday, January 5, 2009


Renfue it's an alternative/rock band from Santa Clarita, California.
This is one of those bands with GirlPower, kinda like Paramore, but they're not a copy, not at all. Their music is good and pop-punky, I enjoyed listening them, but I can't stop thinking about Paramore, the comparisons are and will be there, but if care about it, you're just f*ck*d. I can't find good words to write in here, mostly because I still don't really know what I think about them, on one hand, I like their music, but on the other hand, I found them kind of common, they are good musicians, she's a good singer and I like Paramore, so I guess I like them. Sorry for being so insistent about the comparison, but I can't think in any other (good/better) way to describe you. Anyway, this is a very good band that you should listen:

Saturday, January 3, 2009

Almost Arlington.

Almost Arlington it's an emo band from Philadelphia/Williamstown, New Jersey.
I found pretty interesting the way they care about their fans that much, and the way they think about fame: "Musicians work in a business where Ego's and Vanity can make or break your success, and a lot of them forget that being humble is just as important as being confident. You will never catch me in the van after a show. When my bands set is over I can't wait to talk to anyone that will listen to me. I love getting to know the people who made the time and effort to come see us play..." It's really cool when the people have everything prioritized that good.
Their music is actually pretty, soft, enjoyable; it's not a wonderful innovation, but it's so easy to listen that you just do it without asking yourself why. They have an acoustic version of one of their songs, and I really liked it, I ussually don't like acoustic versions, but this one is relaxing and well-played. All the bad things I have to say about them is that sometimes the voice it's a bit annoying, but just for seconds, not big pieces of the songs.
Even if you don't like emo, you should give them a listen:

Friday, January 2, 2009

Autumns On Fire.

Autumns On Fire it's christian hardcore band from Winslow, Indiana.

Even when I'm totally flattered because they said my blog is "quite fire", I have to be absolutelly objective about their music, and what I really think about it is that... it's nothing special, they are good musicians, but they don't have something that makes them different, it's just the same, I think they need to experiment more with their sound, and the lyrics too; I don't have so much to say about them, and I don't even know if I liked them, because, as I said before, they are good musicians, but they don't have a good proposal for a succesful band, maybe it's because they are still young (or at least they seem like), or any reason, idk, but they should improve the creative area.

Wednesday, December 31, 2008

Congratulations We Came As Romans!!!

Before the new year comes, I want to talk about something that happened during this one:

When I first started to do this reviews, I made one of a band called We Came As Romans, I didn't knew a thing about them, except the fact that I liked their music; Some time later, when I was visiting their Myspace profile, I heard the good news, they are pregnant!! Hahaha no, j/k; this is better... They are the #1 of the "Top 10 unsigned bands to look out for on 2009" on this month's AP magazine!!! And (yeah there's an and) this gets better, they are on this contest, you know, Ernie Ball's, if they win, they are going to be playing on this rockfest, the Taste of Chaos, do you know it?? Haha, ok, seriously, vote for them, if you live in Detroit, you'll enjoy them, and if you don't live close, vote anyway! They totally deserve your vote!!!

I'm so happy for you guys, I hope this new year has better things for you, and keep climbing to the top, you're getting closer!


Tuesday, December 30, 2008

Friends for Hire.

Friends for Hire it's a rock/pop band from Charleston, South Carolina.

They have a rocking cover of Katy Perry's "Hot n' Cold", personally, I prefer Katy's, and my cousin says "personally, I prefer Katy!!!", but their cover it's so good, specially when you don't feel like listening to pop music.

The rest of their songs are good, I don't know how to describe them...Friends for Hire sounds like Boys Like Girls pretending to be rockers, haha!!. Ok, seriously, they sound like that kind of friendly rock/rocker pop that fills the radios, the one you hear everywhere, but they know how to stand out from the others, I think it's because of their drums.(hehe).
"I'm Feeling Alive" it's a very cute song, is that kind of song you wish your boyfriend have written for you; and "Under Your Skin"(softly) rocks, I liked that intro, and the song reminds me a bit of the MCR's songs from the "Three Cheers..." but with less yelling.
To sum up, FFH it's a nice band, their sound it's sweet with your ears, but it's enough rocker to avoid being bullied by your hardcore friends.

Monday, December 29, 2008

Stereo Skyline!.

Stereo Skyline! it's a powerpop band from Long Island, NY.

I can't believe they are unsigned!!! I've heard their song "Heartbeat" on Jac Vanek's profile last week and when I visited the Cash Cash profile, I saw them on the top friends, I clicked on it and when their page opened, I saw they're unsigned! Now I know I couldn't find them on the Buzznet's list when I wanted Heartbeat as my profile song!
Ok, I was talking with a friend about them, he didn't liked their music, but I beg to differ on the contrary (oh, I love that Green Day song); I think they are really cool, of course not super awesome, but they are pretty good, kinda common, but I can't get "Heartbeat" out of my head!!!
I can't think in any other bands for the "sounds like:" but the ones from their top friends: Cash Cash, Metro Station, Boys Like Girls (specially Cash Cash).
They probably doesn't need so much promotion, but you can't get away without listening them haha!!!:

Sunday, December 28, 2008

Third Grade Haters.

Third Grade Haters it's a garage/indie/blues band from Knoxville, Tennesee.
They are loud, they are garage-y, they are so 90's.
The vox sometimes reminds me of Billy Corgan's one, but surprisingly, it's not bad, I mean, if someone tells me about a dude in an unlabaled band who sings like Billy Corgan, I would think "Umm, not so good, uh?" but not in this case, because this boy knows how to use his voice, he doesn't sound like a copy or like a bad singer, it's actually cool. Even when they have a big influence of old school rock, there's something... fresh in their sound that makes me like them better, I still feel like I'm listening to the Smashing Pumpkins, but in a good way, not like a shitty copy of them.
I couldn't find noticeable mistakes in their music, talking about tuning and that stuff, everything's ok. Actually, they are good. I liked the music.

Check'em out on